The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

April 20, 2014

No advice needed on hunting Easter eggs

Happy Easter to one and all!

— This (Saturday) morning, I escorted our son Jason (7) to the SportsPark for the City of Greenville Easter Eggstravaganza hunt. Gone are the days when I would take Nick (24) and Jaylynn (about to turn 15) to such events and I kind of miss the early years, when the kids were so young that they needed Daddy’s guidance in finding the eggs.

Nick gets to fulfill the Daddy Easter egg hunt advisory role with his daughters Lauryn (6) and Vanessa (1). Jaylynn, meanwhile, has learned it is easier simply to steal Jason’s candy after he goes to sleep.

And taking Jason to an Easter egg hunt is an entirely different experience than when we began. Jason, I think, was about 2.5 on his first excursion and I explained in detail that the procedure was to find a colored egg, grab it before anyone else and put it in his basket. About five minutes later, Jason proudly showed me the collection of rocks, trash and leaves he had collected.

This time around, as we waited outside the area marked for “Ages 6-8”, I again attempted to pass along my advice, telling Jason to ignore the eggs right in front – because that’s where everyone was going to go — and head to the fence line, where there would be less competition.

Jason looked at me as if I had just stepped off the boat.

“I know Dad,” he explained slowly. “My friends and I were just talking about this. That is our plan.”

OK, noted for future reference ... Dad is no longer to be listened to on Easter egg hunts. His sole purpose is to provide transportation and get out of the way. Sigh ...

— The annual Kellar Estate Easter egg hunt is scheduled today. Vida — my wife and the Easter Egg/Basket Empress at the Estate — and Jaylynn intend to scatter the sought after eggs across the grounds of the Estate — including the Golden Egg with the cash prize inside — which will become the targets for an assortment of youngsters.

As for me, I will be assigned to take pictures while standing out of the way and ignoring the urge to give Jason any egg hunting tips, right before we sit down to again thank God for his continued blessings on our home, family and friends as we dig into our annual Easter feast.

Here is hoping your Easter Sunday is as blessed ...

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide