The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Breaking News

Opinion

April 21, 2013

Festival helps one forget rest of the world

GREENVILLE — It is no secret that the residents of the Kellar Estate love going to the Scarborough Renaissance Festival in Waxahachie.

I have been going since the festival’s second year and was responsible for recruiting Vida shortly after we started dating in 1993. Vida has been recruiting our friends and family since that time. We have only missed one year, when Jaylynn was born, during the past two decades.

Why do we keep going back? Because of days like we had last weekend.

Scarborough is a wonderful place where all of the members of the cast and many of the visitors dress in colorful, Renaissance-inspired costumes; where there are multiple performances, unique arts and crafts and incredible food and where you can just forget about the rest of the world for a few hours and have fun.

Last Saturday, April 13, was sunny and warm and there were a total of nine of us in our entourage. We split into two groups, with Jaylynn and her friends heading in one direction while the adults headed in the opposite direction.

During the day, we adults ate way too much, spent way too much and had a blast catching our favorite shows, including the can’t miss Don Juan and Miguel. We also enjoyed meeting and interacting with several of the characters we had not met before.

But the highlight of the trip, and what will be one of our all-time high points, was when our friend Shelia got on stage during the Franko the Hypnotist show. Shelia loves to volunteer for the stage acts, having been a hit with the entire audience during The German Brothers show a couple years back.

Franko had Shelia and the others on stage performing silly stunts which left us in tears and talking about the show all day.

Maybe it was the perfect weather, and maybe it was because we all needed a day off from our troubles, but this year’s visit to the Scarborough Renaissance Festival was one the best we’ve ever experienced.

Of course, we will undoubtedly be saying the same thing one year from now ...

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide