The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

January 26, 2014

Surviving winter at Estate includes ‘heater dance’

Just sitting here, wishing Mother Nature would make up her mind already ...

— The Kellar Estate is surviving the winter season pretty well so far. Despite the constant shifts from warm one day to frigid the next — and despite my wife Vida and our daughter Jaylynn having a brush with the stomach bug that’s going around — we have had very few complaints to speak of.

About the only inconvenience which comes to mind, to me at least, is the annual winter heater dance.

During the cold weather months, it is yours truly’s duty — as outlined somewhere in a paragraph in our marriage vows, at least according to Vida — to make sure all downstairs heaters are turned off before I come to bed at night and then to awaken in the wee hours of the morning to go back downstairs and turn the heat on again, so that the ground floor of the Estate will warm up in time for the arrival of the children who attend Vida’s daycare business.

This means I end up losing about an hour’s sleep in total, because as I lay down at night Vida will ask me, “Did you turn off the heaters?”

I will say yes, but the question will get my mind working as I mentally go over the process again ... and again ... and then go downstairs once more to triple check.

When I come upstairs in the wee hours after turning the heat back on, Vida will ask, “Did you turn the heat on?”

This again gets my mind going back over my check list.

Still, if it means my wife, family and assorted toddlers are safe and warm, then all my efforts are worth it.

— About the only other problem worth noting this winter is how the population of the bed in the master bedroom multiplies when it gets really cold at night. Our son Jason, 7, will occasionally want to bunk at the foot of the bed, arguing it is too cold for him to sleep in his room next door (it’s not).

Topping things off is Farnsworth The Attack Cat, who has decided that during the cold weather he will grace us with his presence at night, which means another battle for covers. And Farnsworth has also yet to learn that his purr — loud enough to be used as a car alarm — really doesn’t serve to lull me to sleep, especially when he is trying to shove my head off of “his” pillow.

I can only hope for an early spring ...

— OK, I know I am running a little late this year, but next week I will have my highly anticipated “Fearless Predictions” for 2014, including who will (maybe) win the Super Bowl!

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide