The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

October 27, 2012

Entering busy season at Estate

OK, now it feels like October ...

— We have officially entered the busiest time of the year at the Kellar Estate. Pretty much everyone at the premises will be involved in a plethora of activities all the way until New Year’s Day, at which time we will collapse from complete exhaustion.

— As I write this on Friday evening, I am anticipating spending my Saturday evening waltzing around the dance floor with Jaylynn, 13.5, during the annual Girl Scouts Father-Daughter Dance.

Vida, my wife and the Extremely Energetic Arranger Of Sash-wearing Scout Sashaying has worked alongside several other Scout leaders in scheduling details and decorating the Kavanaugh United Methodist Church for the event, which will again include dinner.

This year there is a live DJ, so I may be forced to show off my extremely rusty but still dazzling dance moves to (a) amaze all of our friends who are in attendance and (b) completely embarrass my daughter.

I understand I will also be providing dancing duties for two of our 5 year-old son Jason’s best buddies, his friends Emilee and Abbey, so I may have worn out my dancing muscles by the end of the night. But that is a risk I will have to take.

— Earlier in the day Saturday, the Girl Scouts will be taking tours of the City of Greenville Police Department, with one group of younger girls in the morning and a group of older girls in the afternoon. So, I would anticipate there will be a lot of tired folks around by the time Saturday evening comes to a close.

— Wednesday is Halloween on the Square. Jason, of course, cannot wait, so obtaining him a costume is also on my list of things to do this weekend. Jaylynn said she is just too “old” for trick-or-treating this year, although I have no doubt as soon as Jason turns his back, she intends to raid her little brother’s candy for anything chocolate-related.

— Immediately after that will come the combined birthday party for Jason, who is turning 6, and our granddaughter Lauryn, who is turning 5. Details are still being worked out, but the event is sure to include lots of hyperactive youngsters, food, games, cake, presents, sleeping over and non-stop cartoons.

And that is just what is occurring at the Estate in the next week or so.

— So, as for me, I am currently looking forward to the relative quiet which can be expected by covering election night for the newspaper. I mean, what could possibly happen there, right? On second thought, don’t answer that.

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide