The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

June 15, 2014

Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

Me, I’ve been blessed with three great children, to whom I hope I have been a good father. While all of us Dads out there imagine ourselves as the modern day equivalent of a Cliff Huxtable, we also realize all too often we tend to resemble Homer Simpson in how we relate to our kids. I’d be happy to wind up somewhere in the middle.

My oldest, Nick, just graduated from college and is launching what will likely be a successful career. No father can be prouder of his son and the man he has become.

Nick has two beautiful daughters of his own, so this is also his well-deserved Father’s Day.

Jaylynn just turned 15, and has had me wrapped around her little finger since birth. Bright, funny and beautiful, she planned to take her family along yesterday (Saturday) on her annual water park trip, her reward for selling so many Girl Scout cookies again this year.

The excursion was also to serve as my Father’s Day present, which was just fine for me.

Jason, 7.5, has plans to “take” me to the movies this afternoon, so that we can watch “Godzilla” for my Father’s Day present. As we talked things over the other night, Jason wanted to know if it was just going be us, or would we also be going with Mommy and Jaylynn.

I told him I didn’t think either of the ladies were particularly interested in seeing a movie about a giant monster, a fact which seemed to relieve him. Jason also wanted to know if I would take him toy shopping after the movie, “for Father’s Day” and I had to tell him that was not going to happen, which was greeted with slightly less enthusiasm.

And, behind every great father there is an even greater mother. In my case, I am fortunate Vida is that even greater Mommy. She has agreed to cook me up a steak and baked potatoes dinner tonight; this even after she took her daycare kids on a field trip to the movies Friday and is helping to organize her high school class reunion later this month.

All things considered, I guess I am closer to having “The Cosby Show” than “The Simpsons” serve as my template for fatherhood. In fact, Cliff would be lucky to have my life for his show ... but I would never make that trade.

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide