The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

June 8, 2014

Summer’s here, ready or not

Too late, summer’s here ...

— The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

Granted, conditions haven’t been too bad so far. I can deal with highs in the low 90s, with lows in the 70s, for a little while anyway, as it doesn’t drastically impact my sleep patterns.

With school out, I get to keep my eyes shut until it is time to get up and go to work. At least, that’s the dream.

What actually happens is I am awakened by the sound of an army of children who no longer are attending classes, lead by our son Jason, 7.5, who comes into the room and asks me “Hey Dad, are you going to work today/”

Soon enough, it will be too hot to sleep comfortably upstairs (all the working air conditioners are downstairs) and we will have to make alternative slumber arrangements. But we’ve learned how to deal with that.

— Vida is deep in the midst of arranging not only field trips and other activities for the children under her care, but also the annual Kellar Family Vacation to San Antonio.

We missed the opportunity to venture to the Alamo City last year and we apologized to the San Antonio Chamber of Commerce for what was likely a significant decline in sales tax revenue during the late summer of 2013. We’re going to make it up to them this time around, as Vida is planning on our taking a posse of friends and relatives along.

“I think we have 25 of us going on vacation,” Vida told me the other night, as she crunched the numbers on her calculator.

You’re welcome San Antonio.

— In the meantime we have visits planned to the Ja-Lu Pool, tbe movies, Hawaiian Falls, Shenaniganz and more, along with multiple grilling events and outdoor festivities on the calendar. Jaylynn, 15, and Jason are already planning on participating in the Buena Vista/Chapman July 4 parade this year.

So, I assume we wil be able to survive the upcoming hot months with our usual style and panache.

Even so, I wouldn’t mind a little cool breeze once in a while ...

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide