The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

May 26, 2013

Jaylynn turns 14

I can’t believe it. I just can’t believe it.

Jaylynn is now 14 years old. Our precious little girl’s birthday came Friday, although we can remember her being born like it was yesterday.

Of course, whenever anyone who knows Jaylynn learns that she is now officially in the early stages of teenagerhood, they remark what a beautiful young woman she is becoming ... right before the jokes start about how daddy is going to need a shotgun.

Yes, I fully realize that our child is beautiful. But she is also smart ... almost as smart as her father in fact. Jaylynn makes excellent grades and still reads as many books — either on paper or on her Kindle — as she can get her hands on.

And, yes, I do worry a bit about how fast she is growing and how quickly the time is passing. Yesterday she was this tiny little thing, born way too soon and fighting for her life in the hospital. Today she is 14 and is almost as tall as I am. Tomorrow she will be dating and by the end of the week I will be honored to walk her down the aisle and give her away with tears in my eyes.

Jaylynn will be starting high school in the fall! Pretty soon she will be learning to drive and we will have to get her a car! Now that is scary!

But I am not too worried about our daughter. Like I said, she has a wonderful head on her shoulders. Plus she has the finest role model in the world, her mother Vida.

Vida has already taught Jaylynn so much and I have no doubt that Jaylynn will continue to be inspired to follow in her mother’s footsteps and mirror Vida’s loyalty, compassion and giving nature, as well as my wife’s strong backbone and will to succeed. The world will be a better place to have two such amazing women on it.

So, while time continues to be fleeting, it will also remind us to treasure those precious moments we will have with our daughter, as we watch her grow and show the world what a miracle she has been and what a blessing she will be in the future.

Happy birthday Jaylynn!

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

What's been the primary cause of the Texas Rangers' poor first half of the 2014 baseball season?

Too many injuries
The loss of Nolan Ryan in the front office
Questionable decisions by general manager Jon Daniels
On-field decisions by manager Ron Washington
Key players just aren't producing
All of the above
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide