The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

December 22, 2013

Vida meets one Christmas angel

GREENVILLE — Merry Christmas!

— As I sit here on Saturday morning, mere days away from Christmas Eve, it occurs to me that I have yet to begin my shopping for the big day.

As I’ve mentioned in years past, being a Man of the Male Gender, it is within my DNA somewhere (right next to the Monday morning coffee gene) to procrastinate unceasingly until a certain subdued panic sets in — usually the week before Christmas — before going shopping.

OK, the subdued panic has officially begun. With luck, I hope to head to the stores this evening and wrap up my Christmas purchases in one fell swoop.

That would leave me time for wrapping presents while watching the Cowboys game today and then take a deep breath and relax until Christmas morning.

Oh, who are we kidding. I am going to be the idiot at the corner gas station at 6 p.m. Tuesday, hoping that someone on my list really wants to find a can of Fix-A-Flat under the tree ...

— Of course, this is the time of year when miracles do happen. Vida, My Wife and the Most Magnificent Monarch of Mobile Communications at the Kellar Estate, met a true Christmas Angel at the Sprint Store by United Cellular in Greenville this week.

Vida had some issues to address concerning her phone and our daughter Jaylynn’s phone and was fortunate enough to be waited on by “Wesley.”

Since that time, Vida has been overflowing with praise about the customer service she received, how Wesley made sure all of her questions were answered and even how he stayed well beyond the end of his shift to make sure Vida had everything she needed.

Vida is not one to hand out compliments if they are not earned, so Wesley must have really gone above and beyond to impress my wife that much. To which I can only say thank you Wesley. You have certainly earned yourself one extremely happy customer in my wife.

— Let me close with this reminder of how all of us have already been given the greatest gift:

“For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” (John 3:16)

From the Kellar Estate to all of yours, have a very Merry Christmas!

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide