The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

December 22, 2013

Vida meets one Christmas angel

GREENVILLE — Merry Christmas!

— As I sit here on Saturday morning, mere days away from Christmas Eve, it occurs to me that I have yet to begin my shopping for the big day.

As I’ve mentioned in years past, being a Man of the Male Gender, it is within my DNA somewhere (right next to the Monday morning coffee gene) to procrastinate unceasingly until a certain subdued panic sets in — usually the week before Christmas — before going shopping.

OK, the subdued panic has officially begun. With luck, I hope to head to the stores this evening and wrap up my Christmas purchases in one fell swoop.

That would leave me time for wrapping presents while watching the Cowboys game today and then take a deep breath and relax until Christmas morning.

Oh, who are we kidding. I am going to be the idiot at the corner gas station at 6 p.m. Tuesday, hoping that someone on my list really wants to find a can of Fix-A-Flat under the tree ...

— Of course, this is the time of year when miracles do happen. Vida, My Wife and the Most Magnificent Monarch of Mobile Communications at the Kellar Estate, met a true Christmas Angel at the Sprint Store by United Cellular in Greenville this week.

Vida had some issues to address concerning her phone and our daughter Jaylynn’s phone and was fortunate enough to be waited on by “Wesley.”

Since that time, Vida has been overflowing with praise about the customer service she received, how Wesley made sure all of her questions were answered and even how he stayed well beyond the end of his shift to make sure Vida had everything she needed.

Vida is not one to hand out compliments if they are not earned, so Wesley must have really gone above and beyond to impress my wife that much. To which I can only say thank you Wesley. You have certainly earned yourself one extremely happy customer in my wife.

— Let me close with this reminder of how all of us have already been given the greatest gift:

“For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” (John 3:16)

From the Kellar Estate to all of yours, have a very Merry Christmas!

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

What's been the primary cause of the Texas Rangers' poor first half of the 2014 baseball season?

Too many injuries
The loss of Nolan Ryan in the front office
Questionable decisions by general manager Jon Daniels
On-field decisions by manager Ron Washington
Key players just aren't producing
All of the above
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques ShowBiz Minute: Hoffman, Oberst, Box Office WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide