The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

April 9, 2013

Could we really make 'the' difference?

The reason why my platform  of “Individuals of Influence” is so close to me is because I recently lost someone very close to me. This past summer. a good friend of mine died from a drug and alcohol overdose.

He was in his early 20s and had such great potential to accomplish many things in his future. When he went to college, he began hanging out with the “wrong crowd.” I had heard this but never took the time to approach him directly.

Would he still be here if I had become involved? Even if it would have been a difficult situation, I cannot help but think that I might have been the one to plant a seed that would have caused him to consider the choices he was making.

All of us can honestly say that we have been influenced by others numerous times during our lives. Those influential moments either positively or negatively impacted the course of our lives. I want to teach people how to stay above the peer pressure, and how to become a positive influence in other’s lives.

I have been told throughout my life that actions speak louder than words; I recently realized the depth of this truth. It is my responsibility to live a life that is above reproach because you never know who is watching you and will see your actions.

Whether it is at an event or just being with friends and family people watch your actions. I believe that being an individual of influence means living your life free of drugs and alcohol. Young people these days think that to have fun these things need to be involved.

It is time to change their belief. Being an individual of influence you are helping change people’s lives.

As Miss Hunt County, I will be able to talk to the people both of my generation and younger about the effects of drugs and alcohol. I feel that my title will open avenues in order to create better communication with those I desire to reach.

As Miss Hunt County, I want to leave a lasting legacy that impacts our community in a dramatic way.

Bishop is Miss Hunt County 2013

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide