The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Breaking News

Opinion

December 1, 2012

Twas the lull before Christmas

GREENVILLE — Between every Thanksgiving and Christmas there is a lull.

Once the turkey leftovers are consumed, and the frenzy of the initial Christmas shopping has been completed, there are still a few weeks to go before the big day finally arrives. This is where we are now at the Kellar Estate.

It doesn’t help that we have our son Jason, 6, who is bouncing off the walls with anticipation. His Christmas wish list grows exponentially with every commercial on Nickelodeon, the Cartoon Network or the Disney Channel.

Jason is even in full “buttering up” mode, doing whatever he can to make sure his name is etched onto the “nice” list and stays off of the “naughty” list.

Jason is trying his hardest to be nice, even to his big sister Jaylynn, 13. Of course Vida and I know that even when Jason is being nice, he tends to drive Jaylynn crazy.

Jason will tell us that he is going to give “Sissy” a bite of his candy, or intends to share his toy with her. We watch him enter Jaylynn’s room and all is well for a few minutes, until the voices start to escalate and we eventually hear Jaylynn scream “Get Out!”

This will be instantly followed by Jason breathlessly explaining to us that, whatever happened, it wasn’t his fault.

This is a cycle which is repeated several times a day, but we’re used to it. The same thing used to happen when Jaylynn was about Jason’s age and she used to go into her big brother Nick’s room.

We are a bit behind the times when it comes to Christmas this year, however. December has started and we have yet to put up the amazingly lifelike artificial Christmas tree, or place any of the holiday decorations around the Estate.

I haven’t done any shopping yet. But I am a man of the male gender, which means I am genetically inclined to wait until the last minute anyway.

Vida skipped Black Friday this year, but was up until the early morning hours on Cyber Monday obtaining gifts.

We just have to learn to be patient. Christmas will be here soon enough. There are still a few weeks remaining in which we can string lights, or purchase and wrap gifts.

And that means there is still time for Jason to make the “nice” list, as well as drive Jaylynn insane.

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

What's been the primary cause of the Texas Rangers' poor first half of the 2014 baseball season?

Too many injuries
The loss of Nolan Ryan in the front office
Questionable decisions by general manager Jon Daniels
On-field decisions by manager Ron Washington
Key players just aren't producing
All of the above
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: MH17 Bodies Arrive in Netherlands Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel Clinton: "AIDS-Free Generation Within Our Reach" Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide