The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

December 1, 2012

Twas the lull before Christmas

GREENVILLE — Between every Thanksgiving and Christmas there is a lull.

Once the turkey leftovers are consumed, and the frenzy of the initial Christmas shopping has been completed, there are still a few weeks to go before the big day finally arrives. This is where we are now at the Kellar Estate.

It doesn’t help that we have our son Jason, 6, who is bouncing off the walls with anticipation. His Christmas wish list grows exponentially with every commercial on Nickelodeon, the Cartoon Network or the Disney Channel.

Jason is even in full “buttering up” mode, doing whatever he can to make sure his name is etched onto the “nice” list and stays off of the “naughty” list.

Jason is trying his hardest to be nice, even to his big sister Jaylynn, 13. Of course Vida and I know that even when Jason is being nice, he tends to drive Jaylynn crazy.

Jason will tell us that he is going to give “Sissy” a bite of his candy, or intends to share his toy with her. We watch him enter Jaylynn’s room and all is well for a few minutes, until the voices start to escalate and we eventually hear Jaylynn scream “Get Out!”

This will be instantly followed by Jason breathlessly explaining to us that, whatever happened, it wasn’t his fault.

This is a cycle which is repeated several times a day, but we’re used to it. The same thing used to happen when Jaylynn was about Jason’s age and she used to go into her big brother Nick’s room.

We are a bit behind the times when it comes to Christmas this year, however. December has started and we have yet to put up the amazingly lifelike artificial Christmas tree, or place any of the holiday decorations around the Estate.

I haven’t done any shopping yet. But I am a man of the male gender, which means I am genetically inclined to wait until the last minute anyway.

Vida skipped Black Friday this year, but was up until the early morning hours on Cyber Monday obtaining gifts.

We just have to learn to be patient. Christmas will be here soon enough. There are still a few weeks remaining in which we can string lights, or purchase and wrap gifts.

And that means there is still time for Jason to make the “nice” list, as well as drive Jaylynn insane.

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide