The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

June 29, 2013

A revolutionary perspective

GREENVILLE — Independence Day is right around the corner, which for most Americans means a day off of work, barbecue and fireworks. And, while messages to remember the reason at the heart of our national holidays are common, all Americans should take a moment to contemplate why we celebrate July 4.

Independence Day commemorates a truly remarkable moment in world history when the United States celebrated the signing of the Declaration of Independence, a document whose preamble begins, “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal...” That statement has informed our national conscience over the past approximately 240 years. While we still struggle as a nation to live up to those words, the example set for us by our forefathers to stand up to tyranny and fight for what we believe is right is one that we should all learn from.

The Declaration’s authors continue: “...that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”

Regardless of what America has done in the past, where we are now or where we are headed as a nation, the concept that we possess rights granted by God, rights that include not just freedom, but the opportunity to better ourselves as individuals, is a truly unique and powerful concept that changed the course of history.

July 4 is a perfect time to celebrate these ideas that helped build America into the great nation it is today, and those words may serve as a guide as we move forward as a nation into an often troubling and confusing time.

So as you’re cutting up the brisket, watching the annual fireworks show or enjoying your day off with a well-deserved nap, remember why we celebrate our Independence Day. The holiday commemorates not just our freedom from Britain, but a brave and revolutionary perspective on human rights that we all should strive to share.

The opinion expressed here is that of the Herald-Banner editorial board. The board can be contacted at editor@heraldbanner.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • School supplies, football signs of end of summer

    It is not here yet, but there are two landmarks on the horizon which traditionally indicate the end of summer is approaching.

    July 27, 2014

  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide