The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

August 25, 2013

Let the school bells ring

Just sitting here, trying to grasp the entirety of the upcoming academic year and what it means for the Kellar Estate ...

— Our eldest son, Nick, on Monday will be starting what is likely to be his final semester at Texas A&M University-Commerce. In a few short months our adult child will be coming to face to face with the real “Real World” and all of its implications.

I am tremendously proud of Nick and look forward to seeing how he writes the next chapters in his life as both a man and as a father to our two beautiful granddaughters.

 — Our daughter Jaylynn, 14, will begin her freshman year at Greenville High School. Jaylynn appears to be ready, and I have no doubt that she will be up to the challenges ahead of her.

She is excited over the fact she gets to take a class on small animals, as Jaylynn long ago decided she wanted to become a veterinarian.

— Our son Jason, 6, is entering the first grade and I have a notion he is not exactly prepared for what is about to happen. He will be sharing a class with one of his best friends, Abby Lynn Ross and I took them both to meet their new teacher Thursday night.

Now, I had mentioned to Jason on a few occasions during the summer that first grade was not going to be like Kindergarten or Pre-K and that there would be less time spent playing and more time learning. Well, I don’t think he fully grasped the concept.

Jason and Abby entered the room, met the teacher and chose their seats next to each other. Then they started walking around, checking out the new digs. After a few moments, a confused Jason turns around and asked, “Where do you keep all the toys?”

It could be a long year where Jason is concerned.

— With the start of the school year also comes the transition at the Estate from Vida keeping a mass of small children all day long at her daycare, to shuttling many of them to school and back each day.

 This means instead of roving herds of small people constantly moving from room to room, or huddled together with toys in virtually every corner of the ground floor of the Estate, there will be regularly scheduled sessions of chaos each morning and afternoon, separated by the gentle lull of Vida and her Aunt Pam caring for those children too young to go to school, allowing the adults a few hours during the day to regain their sanity.

This is a good thing ... a very good thing.

— So, let the school bells ring and let’s get the semester started. We are looking forward to a great school year ... and a little quiet at the Estate during the day ...

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

Does Dallas head coach Jason Garrett need for the Cowboys to make the playoffs during the 2014 football season to keep his job?

Yes
No
Who knows with Jerry Jones as owner?
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide