The Herald Banner, Greenville, TX

Opinion

December 15, 2013

How we survived ‘Icemageddon’

Just sitting here, realizing I have to start my Christmas shopping pretty soon now ...

The Kellar Estate and its occupants survived The Great Ice Storm of 2013 in pretty good shape and even managed to help shelter some friends of ours during the event.

Of course, the news had been dominated for several days about the potential “icemageddon”. In preparation, much of the staff here at the paper had been told to just wait it out at home on Friday, December 6. I had been called in to work and arrived shortly before the newspaper’s power was lost.

There’s not a whole lot you can do, news-wise these days, as you are sitting in the dark and cold with no access to your computer. We had no electricity for about three hours and even lost the phones for a time, before returning to the 21st Century.

The Estate was even more fortunate. Vida, my wife and the Amazing Electrical Emergency Emancipator at the Estate, informed me the residence only lost power for about 15 minutes or so, hardly enough time for the chill to set in.

Our friend Stacey Ross and her clan weren’t so lucky. Their home in the Jacobia area lost electricity early Friday morning and it stayed off until crews with Sharyland Utilities got it back on Sunday afternoon.

 The five of them bunked with the four of us during the blackout and you might think that would cause some problems concerning cabin fever and the fact that we were all sharing the one tiny bathroom at the Estate.

However, we all had a great time. Jason, 7, enjoyed having some extra friends around to play the Wii with, while we all took turns cooking and washing dishes for the Estate’s expanded population.

About the only complication was they had to bring their Dachshund along. This did not sit well with Bosco, the Oversized Schnauzer Puppy. Bosco is known for not exactly being the most welcoming of canines, at least when it comes to other pooches.

 While Millie, the Laid Back Spaniel Mix Dustmop With Legs greeted the new arrival with his typically hospitable sniff to say “Yo! What’s Up Dog?”, Bosco felt it necessary to display his perceived dominance over a wiener dog about a third his size.

This resulted in a complicated series of maneuvers in which we would cordon off one section of the Estate for Bosco and Millie and the other for the house guest, occasionally switching back and forth. It worked out pretty well, except for those occasions when all concerned felt they had to visit the great outdoors at the same time.

Still, the ice storm was responsible for creating some really great memories. Even so, lets just hope we don’t have to repeat the adventure any time soon.

Just a thought ...

Kellar is a Herald-Banner staff writer

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ... summer?

    Just sitting here, wondering what season this is again ...
    — Seriously, this is summer? In Texas?

    July 20, 2014

  • Why no to YMCA?

    Sometimes the lack of news can be just as disturbing as the daily barrage of bad news.

    July 5, 2014

  • Service members deserve our thanks

    More than two million active and reserve military personnel serve in the United States Military across the world: from just down the road in Fort Worth to the Forward Operating Base Jackson in the Helmand Province of Afghanistan, U.S. men and women endure harsh conditions, potentially fatal missions, rigorous training and heart-aching separation.

    July 5, 2014

  • Texas should not have to face surge alone

    Texas political leaders recently announced an increase in funding and personnel to secure the Texas-Mexico border.

    June 27, 2014

  • Closer to Cliff than Homer on any Father’s Day

    It is Father’s Day, the one day a year when sons and daughters (hopefully) remember to thank Dear Old Dad for all he has meant to them over the years.

    June 15, 2014

  • Lives depend on how we drive

    Local roads and highways have been the scene of six motor vehicle accident fatalities over the past week.

    June 11, 2014

  • Summer’s here, ready or not

    Too late, summer’s here ...
    — The occupants of the Kellar Estate once again find themselves preparing for the annual onslaught of heat and humidity which is summer in Texas.

    June 8, 2014

  • YMCA 'ball' now in city's court

    The YMCA/event center project is now back on track, thanks to a $1 million pledge from L-3 Mission Integration. It has been more than a year since Greenville voters approved a $15 million bond to build to new Y.

    June 1, 2014

  • In just a flash, she's turned 15

    Shaking my head in disbelief once again ...
    Jaylynn is 15.
    Let that sink in for a minute.

    May 25, 2014

  • No one should let ‘no’ stand in way of accomplishing their goals

    “No” – a word that is so simple, yet so powerful when used in answering a question. This two-lettered word can create a world of hurt for someone who has big ambitions and is denied the opportunity to see their goals flourish.

    May 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Promotions
Poll

What's been the primary cause of the Texas Rangers' poor first half of the 2014 baseball season?

Too many injuries
The loss of Nolan Ryan in the front office
Questionable decisions by general manager Jon Daniels
On-field decisions by manager Ron Washington
Key players just aren't producing
All of the above
     View Results
Facebook
Must Read
Photos


See more photos and purchase prints here.

AP Video
Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Gaza Fighting Rages Amid Cease-Fire Efforts Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide